An interview with Karen Daniels

GlassesI first met Karen several years ago when she’d just released her first novel. It’s wonderful to reconnect with her now and to see how much she’s grown as a writer and to enjoy the success she’s achieving. I hope you’ll take the time to acquaint yourselves with her work!

PJ: How long have you been writing?

Karen: I took my first writing official writing class 15 years ago. Always an avid reader, I had reached a point in my life where I wanted to express myself artistically.

PJ: At what point did you reach a place where you felt successful as a writer?

Karen: Everyday that I write a I feel a certain amount of success and accomplishment.

PJ: Is the writing life what you expected when you started out? If not, how is it different?

Karen: What surprises me the most about the writing life is writing the novel is technically the easy part – marketing is the difficult part for me.

PJ: The general public seems to think authors are relatively wealthy. Without prying too much, has your writing income lived up to expectations?

Karen: Hold on a second, I need to get up from the floor. Laughing so hard caused me to fall.

PJ: LOL I hear ya! Early on, so much focus is given to getting published. Now that you’re published, how has your focus changed?

Karen: Imagine a pie sliced into three large pieces. The first piece is completing the novel. The second piece is finding a home for the novel. And the third piece involves creating buzz about the novel.

PJ: How long did it take you to get published the first time?

Karen: The first time, one year and roughly 80 rejections, I took matters into my own hands and self-published. The second time, six months and roughly 70 rejections, an epublisher signed me. Be creative and find other ways to get your writing out there. Maybe next time it’ll be with the one of the Big 6.

PJ: Would you do anything differently if you had it to do over again?

Karen: I would have chosen a different self-publishing company, but there weren’t as many as there are today.

PJ: What do you feel is your most effective tool for promoting your published work?

Karen: Word of mouth. It’s slow, but a good review from a reader has power.

Give us a list of your published titles in chronological or series order:Cover Art AR2R 2nd version

Three Days in Purgatory

A Reason to Run

Share with us an elevator pitch (no more than 30 seconds) of your latest title:

A Reason to Run tells the story of three women whose paths cross after each makes the decision to run. A plane crashes in west Texas. Robin’s husband was supposed to be on the plane, but missed his flight. Marissa’s husband should have been camping in the area, but lied about his plans. And Autumn’s teenage daughter witnessed the crash landing, after she ran away. With nothing in common except their life-altering problems, the women will have an opportunity to help one another when their paths cross. If they do, they will earn a trait they are lacking to solve their problems. If they don’t, they will be forever stuck. The reasons they run, the decisions they make along the way, takes them in directions they never imagined.

Where can we buy it?

Of course Amazon, but any eformat book source like Barnes and Noble and Pinterest, but also at my website www.kdaniels.com

What last thing would you like to share with us that nobody knows about you and your work?

I love storytelling and suspense. I also like to perfectly balance the character driven novel and plot driven novel, giving both equal attention. Who says a novel needs to be one or the other?

Thank you, Karen, for taking time to talk with us today. I hope everyone who reads this will find a way to read Karen’s work!

Leave a Reply

