An interview with L.M. Preston

LM PrestonLM Preston is a recent acquaintance of mine. She’s extremely talented and writes YA novels with a compelling and captivating voice!  She’s also incredibly nice and works hard to help other authors get noticed in the NA and YA realm. Get to know her, please!

PJ: How long have you been writing?

LM: I’d been writing since I was 12 yrs old, then life happened at 21 yrs old and I stopped writing until just 7 yrs ago.

PJ: At what point did you reach a place where you felt successful as a writer?

LM: When someone I didn’t know purchased my first book. I know that’s not much to some people but I felt honored to have just one person who doesn’t know me read and enjoy my stories.

PJ: Is the writing life what you expected when you started out? If not, how is it different?

LM: The writing life is not what I expected. I have to do more than write. I have to write, promote, be social, and constantly improve my art. Not to mention, because of writing I’ve met some amazing people that I would never have met had I not been writing.

PJ: The general public seems to think authors are relatively wealthy. Without prying too much, has your writing income lived up to expectations?

LM: Ha! The starving artist is more like it. I never did it for money. However, I did start turning a profit about 3 yrs ago, which is good for any business. Also, I do believe I’m wealthy, with love and support from people who never knew me before they experienced my stories.

PJ: Would you do anything differently if you had it to do over again?

LM: Nothing. Mistakes are great teachers. Everything I have learned on this journey of writing has made me rich beyond the books I’ve written.

PJ: What is the single most exciting thing that’s happened to you as a writer?

LM: Meeting LA Banks! Oh my gosh, she was an amazing inspiration to me and a beautiful spirit. I would’ve never, ever had the chance to meet her face to face had I not been a writer and had a really good excuse to invite her to meet me in DC 😀

Purgatory_Reign_cover0012

Purgatory Reign by LM Preston
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Romance, Action Adventure

Book Trailer Linkhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=atvKA9E4bPI&feature=youtu.be

Read samplehttp://www.freado.com/book/13273/purgatory-reign

Release Dates:
eBook (March 2013)
Print (May 2013)

Pre-Order:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Purgatory-Reign-Series/dp/0985025131/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1344012202&sr=8-1&keywords=purgatory+reign+by+lm+preston

B&Nhttp://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/purgatory-reign-l-m-preston/1112078542?ean=9780985025137

Smashwordshttps://www.smashwords.com/books/view/285543

Goodreadshttp://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15815030-purgatory-reign?ac=1

3 thoughts on “An interview with L.M. Preston

  1. radine says:

    I am recommending this interview to all members of my critique group. Two of them recently sold books to royalty publishers and–though I had preached promotion and “other work” to them for ages–they are shocked, SHOCKED, by all the “other” required and by small income. Others, some nearing publication, may have the shock blunted by this. But what’s so good as well, Ms. Preston mentions the good things, esp. meeting and making so many new friends!

Leave a Reply

