Book trailers and Student Resources by Julie Anne Lindsey

tinyBook trailers and Student Resources by Julie Anne Lindsey

Do you know about book trailers? They’re all the rage now for readers and writers alike. They’re the literary answer to a movie preview. Book trailers are slides or video, plus music and words. People with artistic talent and creative vision put them together to represent a book they love. I’m a book trailer addict. I spend hours on YouTube watching trailers for books I love and discovering new books I need to read as soon as possible. Book trailers are gaining momentum and popping up everywhere books are found. I’m in love with this trend.

When I signed a contract last year for my YA suspense, DECEIVED, I knew I had to have a trailer, too. I wanted to join the exciting league of authors on YouTube. I couldn’t wait! There was one little problem. I had no idea how to make a book trailer. No technical skills to speak of and my artistic talent petered out in preschool. I do words. Only words.

Sadness.

Then, I remembered I’m not an island. I have resources. I contacted my alma mater, Kent State University, and approached Mass Media and Communication students with a proposal. Help this befuddled author with her book trailer and I pinky swear to promote the daylights out of your work. I promised to give them full credit for their efforts, name them on the acknowledgements page inside my book and generally spout my appreciation from the interwebs. The students could use the experience to hone their skills, pad their resumes, and beef up their portfolios. As a bonus, if the book did well, they would benefit from that, too. It was a pretty sweet deal for everyone.

I had no idea.

One young man, then a junior, was interested in making a theatrical trailer. I was open to that. Sure. I had no idea what theatrical trailer meant, but it sounded cool. This student, Matt, wants to work in film after graduation. He will. He’s wonderful. I’ve seen his work first hand and you will too in a minute. Matt did the unthinkable. He spent his time recruiting a cast and crew, developing a script, creating scenes, securing shoot locations and arranging multiple friends’ schedules to accommodate this project. He did this for zero dollars. Yeah. Out of the goodness of his heart. For me, an utter and complete stranger. Delightful as I can be… still.

The finished product was so much more than I could have imagined. I’d hoped for some slides set to music and maybe a little something extra. I didn’t really know. Even as we spoke about what he envisioned, it went over my head. I didn’t get it. Couldn’t get it. My brain doesn’t work that way, but the result is spectacular. I’d love to share his work with you, but first, a final thought. If you need help with something, contact your local college. Students are an untapped resource in the community. Plus, they’re fun.

DECEIVED by Julie Anne LindseyArt._DECEIVED_SL1000_

Ever since she could remember, Elle has had to hop from town to town to keep up with her dad’s demanding career as a corporate insurance agent. Each time, a reoccurring nightmare followed her wherever she went–until the day that the frightening figures haunting her at night became all too real. When news of a serial killer spreads throughout her new school, Elle worries that the Reaper has been leaving her his calling card in the form of cigarette butts on her doormat and an unusual ribbon in her locker. With the help of Brian, a boy she meets at a flea market, she discovers that this isn’t her first encounter with the murderer and that her father has been concealing her true identity for the past twelve years. But despite her father’s desperate attempts to protect her, Elle still comes face to face with the darkness she has been running from her whole life. Trapped in the woods and with help hundreds of miles away, will Elle be able to confront the Reaper and reclaim the life she lost?

Available September 18th on Amazon Barnes & Noble Book Depository and more.

About Julie:

Julie Anne Lindsey is a multi-genre author who writes the stories that keep her up at night. In 2013, Julie welcomes five new releases in three genres including her newest title, DECEIVED, a YA suspense from Merit Press, and her first cozy mystery, MURDER BY THE SEASIDE, book one in the Patience Price, Counselor at Large series from Carina Press (a digital imprint of Harlequin).

Julie is a self-proclaimed word nerd who would rather read than almost anything else. She started writing to make people smile. Someday she plans to change the world. Most days you’ll find her online, amped up on caffeine and wielding a book.

Julie is a member of the International Thriller Writers (ITW), Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI), Sisters in Crime (SinC) and the Canton Writer’s Guild.

Find her online:

Tweeting her crazy @JulieALindsey

Soothing her book obsession on GoodReads

Pinning the pretty on Pinterest

Tumbling lamely on Tumblr

Blogging about books and writing at Musings from the Slush Pile

Facebook

3 thoughts on “Book trailers and Student Resources by Julie Anne Lindsey

  1. This is so cool! And what a great idea to use students. I’ll try it with my next book.

  2. […] Book trailers and Student Resources by Julie Anne Lindsey (bookbrowsing.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Book trailers and Student Resources by Julie Anne Lindsey (bookbrowsing.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

