An interview with Laura Dion-Jones

1 dionjones_RET_smLaura Dion-Jones is a pro-health activist, Corporate Wellness Coach (CCWC), Certified Wellness Coach (CWC), radio show host, and motivational weight loss and lifestyle speaker/writer.

Laura’s weight loss success story speaks for itself. She shed 150 pounds in 2-1/2 years by cutting white starch and sugary carbs from her diet and by making walking her daily cardio of choice. Serious walking! 

Since 1/1/2003, Laura has walked over 35,000 miles. That’s all the way around the earth at the equator. And she’s still walking daily — for the health of it. Today, she’s considered an “Elite Walker” averaging over 50 miles per week. 

Laura brings expertise and vast experience in fitness, fashion, and beauty to her coaching career. Much of her expertise is now found in her new bookCommit 2 Get Fit!

PJ: Hi Laura! How long have you been writing? 

LDJ: For as long as I can remember but never really realized I was a writer until people told me how much they loved my writer’s voice.

PJ: At what point did you reach a place where you felt successful as a writer? 

LDJ: Do we ever really feel successful as a writer? The more feedback I get, the more successful I feel. When you have a message that is too important not to be heard, you’ll keep writing to get it out and get noticed. A nice, big, fat book deal will help me feel more successful, that’s for sure!

PJ: Is the writing life what you expected when you started out? If not, how is it different? 

LDJ: Frankly, I didn’t know what to expect, but, like so many other things in life, it is a solitary life. I love communicating through writing almost more than anything else – except for my TV and radio shows!

PJ: The general public seems to think authors are relatively wealthy. Without prying too much, has your writing income lived up to expectations? 

LDJ: OMG, no. I’m still working toward that kind of success. I know with the 3 books I have in the hopper, this year will definitely be MY year, however!

PJ: Early on, so much focus is given to getting published. Now that you’re published, how has your focus changed? 

LDJ: The focus is the same – more, bigger, better. 

PJ: How long did it take you to get published the first time?  

LDJ: I self-published because I wanted to get my book out fast and couldn’t wait for the traditional publishing methods – they take WAY too long.

PJ: Would you do anything differently if you had it to do over again? 

LDJ: Yeah, be born to a richer family! Money is always an object for many of us writers and publishing and PR all cost money. What would I do differently? When I was younger, I wish I knew what I know now, but don’t we all? I’ve wasted SO much time on meaningless stuff – things that at the time seemed mountainous – really weren’t. Instead of worrying about that stuff, I wish I would’ve been writing and promoting. Now I know better.

PJ: Writing new material, rewriting, submitting new work, waiting, promoting published work…the list is large. How do you manage to divvy up your time to give adequate attention to all needed areas?  

LDJ: Depends what the priorities are for each day – like lawyers, I work on the stuff that is the most pressing so somehow one has to fit it all in . . . sooner or later.

PJ: What is the single most exciting thing that’s happened to you as a writer?

LDJ: Changing people’s lives for the better. Making a difference in their health and wellness in mind, body and spirit. Having people come up to thank me for my words of motivation, inspiration, encouragement, what have you. Making a difference in other’s lives is what matters to me most!

PJ: What is the single most disappointing thing that happened to you as a writer? 

LDJ: Jealousy of “friends.” We all have a lot of frienemies out there. And rejection. Just cos someone rejects your piece doesn’t mean it’s not good. Take their feedback, fix what needs to be fixed, if anything, and resubmit elsewhere. Keep putting one foot in front of the other and improving your craft as you go. You’ll come out a winner if you do this. We constantly keep learning throughout our lives – if you think you know it all – trust me, you don’t. I constantly am taking classes and reading and learning more about everything I do. You should, too. If you’re not learning, you’re stagnating – and stagnation is the death of a writer. We always have to keep current on all sorts of stuff to be able to write.

PJ: That’s good advice! What’s the most memorable thing (good or bad) that’s happened to you while promoting your work?

LDJ: Seeing people’s faces when I give them the courage and hope they need to succeed on their new motivational weight loss, health and wellness plan. I make them believe that if I can do it, they can, too – and then I show them how. The most memorable thing? Selling people on themselves – and seeing it in their eyes when they finally “get it.” 

PJ: With more books being released each month now than ever before, what do you believe sets your work apart from the others? 

LDJ: My passion and message that obesity is TOTALLY preventable – and here’s how to find the secret to your own true and everlasting weight loss . . . 

PJ: What would you like to share with writers who haven’t reached the point of publication yet? 

LDJ: Persistence knows no failure.

PJ: What area of book promotion is the most challenging to you? 

LDJ: Cold calling, querying places to speak, getting the word out there.

Give us a list of your published titles in chronological or series order: 

Commit To Get Fit: Find The Secret To Your Own True And Everlasting Weight Loss. Workbook coming early Summer 2014, and more . . .

Share with us an elevator pitch (no more than 30 seconds) of your latest title:

Commit To Get Fit: Find The Secret To Your Own True And Everlasting Weight Loss – a guide to help put an end to our country’s obesity epidemic. What more is there to say? Usually once I say this, everyone wants to know more cos if they don’t need help, someone near and dear to them does.

Where can we buy it? C2GF front cover layout sm11-13-13

Amazon Kindle version

Trade paper

Other ebook versions coming this month!

What last thing would you like to share with us that nobody knows about you and your work? 

LDJ: I’m very passionate about this obesity thing – as a formerly chronic obese woman in recovery – it’s much more difficult to stay over weight and unhealthy than it is to just buckle down and get rid of your excess, unwanted weight once and for all. I did and if I can, you can, too.

Leave a Reply

