My Promotion Tips by Marilyn Meredith

MeatLompoclibraryThis is what has worked for me:

I’ve had a website since the beginning. I keep it up to date with each new book that comes out, along with a buy link and the first chapter where I’m appearing, and what I’ve posted on Twitter, which usually links to my latest blog posts. http://fictionforyou.com/

My personal blog is http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com/ and I usually have something new every two days. I have guest blogs and also tell about what I’m up to both in my writing life and personal life.

On the first and third Tuesdays, I blog on the following blogs:

http://makeminemystery.blogspot.com/

and

http://thestilettogang.blogspot.com/

I comment on other people’s blogs.

I have a monthly newsletter, and when I’m making a personal appearance I have a guest book for people to leave their email addresses if interested in subscribing. If anyone would like to subscribe, all you have to do is email me: mmeredith@ocsnet.net  My newsletter always tells what I’ve been doing and some promo for my latest book, and a bit of personal news. I often get replies from my subscribers.

And of course there’s Facebook. I love Facebook. I never ever put anything political on my status. What I do put is stuff about my writing, promotion including my stops when I’m on a blog tour, and personal stuff that I do. That’s what I like on other people’s status posts.

I belong to several groups and mostly promote on them when I have a new book—and definitely when I’m doing a blog tour like this one.

I love doing blog tours but they are very labor intensive to set-up, writing the posts that people might like to read, and promoting each stop.

I’ve done the freebie or cheap book offer and besides many down loads, I’ve sold a lot of books too.

The in-person events I like best are library talks, either by myself or being on a panel. I always give a copy of my book or books to the library.

We have no bookstores nearby. I have three independent bookstores I like to give presentations in but I must drive quite a ways to get to them. Sometimes the event is successful and I sell lots of books, sometimes not. I always have fun.

I love giving presentations at writers’ conferences.

Book fairs and craft fairs are fun to do, and I usually do two or three a year.

And that’s what I do for promotion.

 

Marilyn

~~~

Blurb for River Spirits:

RiverSpiritsWhile filming a movie on the Bear Creek Indian Reservation, the film crew trespasses on sacred ground, threats are made against the female stars, a missing woman is found by the Hairy Man, an actor is murdered and Deputy Tempe Crabtree has no idea who is guilty. Once again, the elusive and legendary Hairy Man plays an important role in this newest Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery.

Bio:

Marilyn Meredith is the author of over thirty-five published novels, including the award winning Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery series, the latest River Spirits from Mundania Press. Marilyn is a member of three chapters of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. She lives in the foothills of the Sierra. Visit her at http://fictionforyou.com and her blog at http://marilymeredith.blogspot.com/

 

 

Contest: The winner will be the person who comments on the most blog posts during the tour.

He or she can either have a character in my next book named after them, or choose an earlier book in the Deputy Tempe Crabtree series—either a paper book or e-book.

 

Tomorrow you’ll find me at Morgan Mandel’s Book Beat Babes http://bookbeatbabes@blogspot.com/  Topic: Where do the Minor Characters Come From?

 

Links for RiverSpirit blog tour

 

From the publisher, all formats:

http://mundania.com/book.php?title=River+Spirits

For Kindle:

http://www.amazon.com/River-Spirits-Tempe-Crabtree-Book-ebook/dp/B00O3R83TQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1412345856&sr=1-1&keywords=River+Spirits+by+Marilyn+Meredith

Amazon paperback:

http://www.amazon.com/River-Spirits-Marilyn-Meredith/dp/1606594117/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_pap?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1412900595&sr=1-1&keywords=river+spirits+by+marilyn+meredith

For Nook

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/river-spirits-marilyn-meredith/1120425385?ean=2940150347090

 

 

 

Visit me at http://fictionforyou.com/

Blog: http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com/

 

18 thoughts on “My Promotion Tips by Marilyn Meredith

  1. amreade says:

    Thanks for the tips, Marilyn! Always fun following your blog tours–congratulations on the new release!

  2. Thank you, amreade, for your kind words and the fact that you follow my tours. And also a bit thanks to PJ for hosting me today.

  3. I never miss a chance to learn more from you, Marilyn. I took your tip on donating a copy of The Wooded Path to my local library 🙂 It was much more effective to do so in person after they didn’t respond to an OTP inquiry. What a thrill to see my book on the shelf!

  4. Hi, Nancy, yes, it does work to give them a book. At the Porterville Library they have a special section for my books.

  5. I’ve learned so much from you, Marilyn. I need to post some samples from my book on my website but I’ve signed up for my first-ever craft fair after Thanksgiving. I’m looking forward to meeting people and perhaps selling a few books. Thanks for the advice!

  6. Thonie, I learned from others writers too. It’s kind of a pass it along thing.

  7. Great advice as always.

  8. Marilyn, you are super generous with your books and your time. I always love being on a panel with you and hope we have many more in the future. Terrific ideas for promoting here. I do quite a lot of these as well, including guest posts and giveaways when a new book is out. Hugs your way, Paul (and Bob)

  9. I wish I had your energy, Marilyn. I don’t know how you manage to do all that you do but, because I love your books, I’m glad you do it.
    BTW, I’m reading “River Spirits” now and I can’t wait to find out the identity of the killer. I should know tonight. Another great Tempe Crabtree mystery!

  10. Marilyn, I really appreciate your experience and advice. Your blog posts are always interesting and valuable. Thanks!

  11. Larry K. & Lorna Collins - Authors says:

    We’d still love to come up and do a joint event with you sometime. The timing just never seems to work out.

  12. Lorna and Larry, I’d love to figure out something we could do together one of these days.

Leave a Reply

