Promotion, Promotion, Promotion by Marilyn (aka F.M.) Meredith

MarilynoncruiseThat’s what has been occupying a lot of my time lately.

I just finished a blog tour which everyone knows is time-consuming. I’ve been doing them for a long time, and my tips for a successful tour is this:

Ask your host if there is anything special they’d like you to write in your post. If they don’t have any ideas, come up with something different from what you’ve done for others.

If possible, send the post along with the bio, book blurb and attachments of the cover and yourself in the same email.

Change up the photos of yourself. If someone is following your tour, it’s fun for them to see different pictures of you. I like to include photos of me at different events like book fairs, speaking engagements, and on panels.

You could add other photos that have something to do with your book.

On the day your post is to appear on someone’s blog, be sure to leave a comment thanking them for hosting you.

Promote the blog everywhere, Facebook, Facebook groups. Twitter, and all the listserves you belong to.

Be sure to put the tour schedule with clickable links on your own blog.

Return to each blog several times a day that it appears and reply to comments left by others. Check it once or twice in the days to follow.

Do blog tours work? I wouldn’t do them if I didn’t think so. When I’m on a tour, I always get an uptick of sales. It’s also a way to get your name out there. On the tour I just finished, besides my loyal followers, I had many unique commenters—unfamiliar names who expressed interest in my latest book.  (I also think tours are fun.)

This is the book I was promoting, the latest in my Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery series: Violent Departures.ViolentDepartures

Blurb:

College student, Veronica Randall, disappears from her car in her own driveway, everyone in the Rocky Bluff P.D. is looking for her. Detective Milligan and family move into a house that may be haunted. Officer Butler is assigned to train a new hire and faces several major challenges.

Bio:

 

F.M. Meredith, also known as Marilyn Meredith, is the author of over thirty published novels. Marilyn is a member of three chapters of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. Besides having family members in law enforcement, she lived in a town much like Rocky Bluff with many police families as neighbors.

FinalRespects.best

One last bit of news, starting May 1 and on, the first book in the Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery series, Final Respects, will be free on Kindle. Why am I doing that? In hopes that after reading it, people will want to read the rest of the books in the series. I’ll come back to P.J. Nunn’s blog and let you know how it worked out.

 

3 thoughts on “Promotion, Promotion, Promotion by Marilyn (aka F.M.) Meredith

  1. marilynm says:

    Thank you for having me today. The Kindle book, Final Respects is only free until May 5.

  2. Great tips, Marilyn. I took notes.

Leave a Reply

