An apology

LiveLeak-dot-com-6e532174e4a2-i_apologize_card4.jpg.resized

I went to the doctor on June 18, expecting to come home with a handful of prescription oral antibiotics then go right back to work. Instead, I was whisked away and promptly admitted to the local hospital, repeatedly reassured that it was the fastest cure for the cellulitis that afflicted my legs. That might have been true in theory, but in actuality, the  diuretics they gave me along with the antibiotics caused my kidneys to start to fail. They’d already been attacked by Lupus and didn’t have far to go. Soooooooo current treatment was suspended in favor of Plan B. Start dialysis.

Now here it is August and it’s really been a bumpy road. Dialysis is no more fun than it was the first time, but it is needed and tolerable. Physical therapy has been grueling and I’m still enduring it three times a week.

Keeping up with my work was still a high priority during those weeks, as it is now, so some things slipped to the side, this blog being one of them. I didn’t intend to neglect it, or the wonderful authors who often share guest posts here. I simply ran out of hours and fell sadly behind. I ask that you accept my apology and continue to be patient as I get things moving here again. I promise to share some wonderful new authors and book news with you in coming weeks!

 

PJ

8 thoughts on “An apology

  1. Kevin says:

    Just focus on getting well. The rest of this stuff does not matter much at all when the health stuff is kicking you in the teeth and a few other places.

  2. Glad you are home – take your time and don’t rush trying to catch up.

  3. nancylynnjarvis says:

    We’ll miss you but will be fine without you. Work on getting better; that will make all of us the happiest.

  4. sharonervin says:

    Organized folks set priorities. Life sometimes insists on cutting into our plan A’s, disrupting. With the interruptions, come new priorities. No choice. Scripture says God doesn’t give us more than we can handle. Sometimes I think He may overestimate our abilities. Nah. Hang in. Better days are coming.

  5. sunnyfrazier says:

    PJ, I, too, am in dialysis, have been for 15 months. I enjoy the techs, have made friends with some of the patients and actually have a good time in treatment. I was poisoned by cat flea medicine and lost one kidney right away, hung on to the other for a decade. I know you have other problems, not just kidney failure, and perhaps dialysis will be a temporary thing for you. I’m on the transplant list and am in it for the long haul. But, I’m incredibly healthy, much better than before I went into treatment. I feel so blessed that medicine has come this far. Hopefully they will continue to work on an artifical kidney for us. Take care, Sunny Frazier.

  6. Charlene says:

    You have nothing what so ever to apologize for in the least. Each person goes through set-backs now and then. You will be up and running before you know it. I know it doesn’t seem like it right now, but you will. Meanwhile, if there is any way I can do anything to help you at all, just holler. You’ve always been my shoulder, I would gladly return the favor.

  7. Kaye George says:

    So sorry to read this! I hope the road smooths out somehow.
    And soon. Meanwhile, you have to take care of yourself!

  8. Lelia T says:

    PJ, I’m so sorry you’ve been going through such a rough time. Let me know if I can make things any easier for you.

Leave a Reply

