Why, with all your varied experiences did you choose to write mysteries? by Marilyn Meredith

Me at Madera LibraryThis the first stop on my blog tour for my latest Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery, A Crushing Death. PJ asked me this question—“Why, with all your varied experiences did you choose to write mysteries?”

The main reason I’ve had “varied experiences” is because I’ve been around for such a long time.

I grew up in a community of Los Angeles called Eagle Rock. I’ve always been a voracious reader and as a child I loved Nancy Drew mysteries. I graduated from them to many adult books, but remember that I also enjoyed the historical gothics.

A blind date with a cute sailor changed the direction of my life. We married despite everyone’s warnings that it wouldn’t last. How wrong they were. We lived in Maryland and Virginia and finally settled in Oxnard CA where hubby was stationed at the Port Hueneme Seabee Base. By the time we had our third child we bought a home and raised all of our five kids there.

My reading moved on to the many mystery novels written by Erle Stanley Gardner and I read a lot of romances given to me by my next door neighbor. I also worked at many jobs: telephone operator, teacher in a pre-school for kids with developmental disabilities, day care center teacher in low-income areas, in a pre-school where I was the only one who wasn’t fluent in Spanish—I did speak Spanish but my students all learned English quickly.

While in Oxnard I wrote two historical family sagas based on my own family’s genealogy and started the process of submitting them to publishers, receiving many rejections and doing lots of rewriting.

We moved to the foothills of the Sequoia and took over a licensed facility for 6 women with developmental disabilities. The first year we were here, I received an acceptance letter for the first of the sagas. I thought I was on my way to being famous. Didn’t happen. I was woefully uneducated about the needed promotion.

(We continued working as residential care providers for over 20 years and during that time I planned and taught training classes for other Administrators, and put out a newsletter about residential care for administrators—and still do.)

I decided to write mysteries, and the first one contained characters and some of my experiences working in one of the day care centers—and it was my first book to have a police officer in it that was published. However, I had started to write the first Rocky Bluff mysteries before we left the coastal area.

I’ve used many of my experiences and the places I’ve lived and even some of the people I’ve known over the years in my mysteries—of course sprinkled with lots of imagination.

A Crushing Death Blurb:

A pile of rocks is found on a dead body beneath the condemned pier, a teacher is accused of molesting a student, the new police chief is threatened by someone she once arrested for attacking women, and Detective Milligan’s teenage daughter has a big problem.A Crushing Death Right

Bio:

  1. M. Meredith who is also known as Marilyn Meredith is nearing the number of 40 published books. Besides being an author she is a wife, mother , grandma and great-grandmother. Though the Rocky Bluff she writes about is fictional, she lived for over twenty-years in a similar small beach town. Besides having many law enforcement officers in her family she is counts many as friends. She teaches writing, loves to give presentations to writing and other groups, and is a member of Mystery Writers of America, three chapters of Sisters in Crime and on the board of Public Safety Writers Association.

Website: http://fictionforyou.com

Blog: http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com

Facebook: Marilyn Meredith

Twitter: MarilynMeredith

Contest: Once again, the person who comments on the most blogs during this tour, can have a character named after them in the next Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery. Tomorrow you can find me here:

http://writerswhokill.blogspot.com/

Buy link http://www.amazon.com/Crushing-Death-Rocky-Bluff-P-D/dp/1610092260/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457618775&sr=8-1&keywords=A+Crushing+Death+by+F.M.+Meredith

24 thoughts on “Why, with all your varied experiences did you choose to write mysteries? by Marilyn Meredith

  1. marilynm says:

    Thank you so much for hosting me today, PJ!

  2. DiJ says:

    I enjoy your work, Marilyn. And for me, just by getting up, I find mystery in the day.

  3. Fun to learn more about you in this post, Marilyn. Glad the blind date with the cute sailor worked out 🙂

  4. EARL STAGGS says:

    Good luck on your tour, Marilyn. Wherever you go, there’ll be many of your fans waiting to read what you have to say. Like me, they’re glad you chose to write mystery.

  5. mcm0704 says:

    It is always so nice to learn a little more about you in your tours. Enjoy this one.

  6. nancylynnjarvis says:

    Marilyn, don’ you agree that writing mysteries is fun because of the logic and mind games involved?

  7. Marilyn you are wrong. You are famous, maybe not nationally, but with every organization you belong to. You’re an inspiration and are admired for your determination and dedication to your writing.

  8. marilynlevinson says:

    Marilyn,
    You never cease to amaze me. I enjoyed learning more about you in this post. I am doing my best not to procrastinate, something you’ve said you never do.

    Marilyn

  9. susantuttle says:

    Now I see where you get so much inspiration from. What a fascinating life you’ve led. Love each and every one of your books…can’t say which is my favorite… No, I can. It’s the latest, always the latest! LOL

  10. marilynm says:

    Hi Susan, thanks for stopping by. When people ask which book is my best, I always say the latest too.

  11. lindamthorne says:

    Looking forward to your stop on my blog on April 26th. Do you know the count for how many this books makes that you’ve published? Thirty-seven, thirty-eight, more? I’m awed by how many books you’ve published.

  12. marilynm says:

    Hi, Linda–truly, I’m not sure exactly how many books I’ve had published, but it is getting close to the number 40.

  13. Live long and prosper, my friend. You deserve to be famous. Your books are so well-written and well-plotted. Always looking forward to the next one.

  14. marilynm says:

    Thank you, Lorna, you always make me feel good!

  15. radine says:

    I agree, writing mysteries is fun–I am sharing an adventure with my characters, as are you. And, reading other people’s mystery novels (ie: yours) is the same type of fun, but maybe not so intense. Let’s hear it for the mystery story!

  16. marilynm says:

    Thanks for commenting, Radine. There once was a radio show called I Love a Mystery, and it fits all of us!

  17. Maggie King says:

    Good post, Marilyn. Yes, we do bring our experiences to the page. Perhaps not in recognizable form, except to us 😉

Leave a Reply

