An interview with Nancy Cole Silverman

Nancy speakingNancy Cole Silverman credits her twenty-five years in radio for helping her to develop an ear for storytelling. In 2001, Silverman retired from news and copywriting to write fiction full time. In 2014, Silverman signed with Henery Press for her new mystery series, The Carol Childs’ Mysteries. The first of the series, Shadow of Doubt, debuted in December 2014 and the second, Beyond a Doubt, debuted July 2015. Coming soon, in 2016, is the third in the series, Without A Doubt. Silverman also has written a number of short stories, many of them influenced by her experiences growing up in the Arizona desert. For more information visit www.nancycolesilverman.com

 

elechi-pen

How would my friends describe me in 20 words or less?

Okay, I asked some friends and here it what they said, a few more than twenty words, but you’ll get the idea. Creative. Energetic. Positive. Go Getter.  Loyal. Stubborn. Determined. Won’t take no for an answer. Gregarious. Smart, fun. Blonde. Tall. Thin. Center Stage Personality. Outspoken. Team player. Ambitious. Stylish. Practical. Warm. People person. Entrepreneur.

 

Tell me a little about yourself.

I think my friends really nailed it.  Of course, nobody knows the inner most workings or an individual and writers probably more than any others are hard judges on themselves. I fall into that category.  I’m not really a perfectionist, but I am ambitious and determined to see things through to the finish.

 

Where would you live if you could live anywhere in the world?

Santa Barbara.  My husband and I visit there regularly and love the area.

 

What’s your current guilty pleasure?

Only one?  Travel. Wine. Chocolate. Coffee and the rest is saved the confessional.

 

If you weren’t a writer, what you would be? SHADOW OF DOUBS

I was in broadcasting for 25 years and loved working as journalist and on the business side of radio.  With that under my belt, I suppose if I had to do it again, and I might like to have been an English teacher.  I enjoy reading and teaching the craft of writing.

 

When did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was a child.  I remember penning, or penciling, my first story when I was seven years old. I think that the age kids start to get an idea about who they are and what they’d like to do in life.

 

Who is you mentor? Who do you look up to?

Nora Ephron.  Joyce Carol Oats.

 

Who are your cheerleaders?

My mother and my husband.

 

Aside from writing, what do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

Cook, entertain and travel and theater. I love the theater.  Growing up I was very active in theater and love to go to plays, particularly musicals.

 

Do you keep track or write reviews for books you read?

Yes.  I try to read as much as I can and I sometimes do reviews on Goodreads.com

 

Do you read reviews written about your book?

Yes.  I know it’s not advised but I think if a review is well written, there is much to be gained by reading it.

 

BEYOND A DOUBT (1)Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Yes.

 

What started you on your journey to be a writer?

When I left radio after twenty-five years I founded and published an equestrian newspaper.  For about eight years I covered a lot of equestrian events and between writing about them, I was riding in some of them.  It was great fun, until I had an accident and needed to hang up my stirrups.  It was then I decided to sell the newspaper and start writing fiction.  I’ve never looked back.

 

Do you listen to music while writing?

Yes.  Usually jazz.

 

What are your favorite hobbies?

Reading. Movies. Theater. Music. Hiking. Cooking.

 

With more books being released each month now than ever before, what do you believe sets your work apart from the others?

I’m very passionate about The Carol Childs Mysteries and hear back from readers how authentic the work sounds.  I think it comes from having really worked in the business.  Somehow or other it just radiates onto the page.  Authenticity makes for real character and believable situations.  Those are both memorable and touching to readers.

 

What would you like to share with writers who haven’t reached the point of publication yet?BOOKED IN BURBANK READ

Write.  Write. Write.  You can’t be a musician without practice.  Writing is no different.

 

What do you feel is your most effective tool for promoting your published work?

Myself.  I’m good public speaker and my experience with radio has taught me a lot about working a crowd.  I enjoy it and getting before a group of people and answering questions.

 

What area of book promotion is the most challenging to you?

Online blogs.  There are so many of them and I fear they are not read by as many readers as they are writers looking for answers.

 

Your favorite books and author?

Let’s restate this question with favorite authors.  Titles I sometimes forget, but authors, never:  Stephen King, Sue Grafton, Nora Ephron, Leon Uris, Michael Connelly, John Grisham, Janet Evonovich, Harlan Coben…the list goes on.

 

Which genres do you prefer to read?

Mystery, historical fiction.

 

What book is currently on your nightstand?

Missing Mark by Julie Kramer.  I recently heard her speak at a conference and picked up her first book, Killing Sarah and found her both entertaining and as a journalist believable.

 

How many books do you read/month?

If I’m writing, not as many as I’d like.  Maybe only 3 or 4.

 

Do you reply to their messages or read their reviews?

I reply to any messages any reader has ever sent.  I think it someone has read my book and takes the time to email me they deserve a reply.

 

Do you prefer Twitter or Facebook?

Facebook.

 

Where can your fans find you?

Facebook.

 

Give us a list of your published titles in chronological or series order:WITHOUT A DOUBT front SM

 Shadow of Doubt

Beyond a Doubt

Without a Doubt

 

Are you working on anything new and if so when can we expect to see it?

I’m currently working on book 4 of the Carol Childs mysteries and I’ve recently finished a couple of short stories.

 

What last thing would you like to share with us that nobody knows about you and your work?

I also write short stories, and I’m currently working an anthology.

Leave a Reply

