An interview with Maria Grazia Swan

Maria Grazia SwanBestselling author Maria Grazia Swan was born in Italy, but this rolling stone has definitely gathered no moss. She lived in Belgium, France, Germany, in beautiful Orange County, California where she raised her family, and is currently at home in Phoenix, Arizona.

As a young girl, her vivid imagination predestined her to be a writer. She won her first literary award at the age of fourteen while living in Belgium. As a young woman Maria returned to Italy to design for–ooh-la-la–haute couture. Once in the U.S. and after years of concentrating on family, she tackled real estate. These days her time is devoted to her deepest passions: writing and helping people and pets find the perfect home.

Maria loves travel, opera, good books, hiking, and intelligent movies (if she can find one, that is). When asked about her idea of a perfect evening, she favors stimulating conversation, Northern Italian food and perfectly chilled Prosecco–but then, who doesn’t?

www.mariagraziaswan.com

Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/MariaGraziaSwan?ref=hl

elechi-pen

What’s the most memorable thing (good or bad) that’s happened to you while promoting your work?

OMG!! I still blush after all the years. Barnes and Noble. One of my first booksigning. The event was covered by the local media. I quickly had to use the restroom before walking to the podium and unfortunately my beautiful flirty chiffon skirt got stuck in my panties, in the back…made for a Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.03.23 PMmemorable event..

 

What would you like to share with writers who haven’t reached the point of publication yet?

Never, ever give up. Follow your dream. You never know when lighting will strike.

 

What do you feel is your most effective tool for promoting your published work?

I will have to say word of mouth???

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.04.12 PMWhat area of book promotion is the most challenging to you?

Anything connected to the digital world.

 

Which genres do you prefer to read?

I read mystery because I’m a sucker for a good plot. However, I like anything that’s well written. If the writing catches my fancy, I’m in.

 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Honestly, I have a very hard time keeping up with my usual suspects, I only buy a new author if a trusted friend recommends it.Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.04.55 PM

 

What book is currently on your nightstand?

Marked Masters, Ritter Ames

 

How many books do you read/month?

Two or three, it depends on my schedule.

 

What is the one book that you think everyone should read?Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.05.19 PM

Bird by Bird. By Annie Lamott it’s my go to bible.

 

Do you have an all time favorite book?

Not really, it changes like everything in life. Maybe I should say that my needs and preferences evolve.

 

How important do you find the communication between you and your readers?

Do you reply to their messages or read their reviews? I do, I do. And I often seek their input. I’ll be nothing without them.

 

Do you prefer Twitter or Facebook?

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.11.31 PMFacebook, of course. Doesn’t everybody?

 

Where can your fans find you?

Not sure about the question. I send out a newsletter, I have a website, Facebook and twitter and Goodreads presence and if all fails, I have a page on Amazon with my e-mail address. I’m easily accessible.

 

Give us a list of your published titles in chronological or series order:

Mina’s series (6 books to date)

Love thy Sister

Bosom Bodies

Italian SummerScreen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.10.58 PM

Ashes of Autumn

A Cat to Die For

Best in Show

 

Non fiction

Stories my Grandfather told me

Mating Dance-Rituals for singles who weren’t born yesterday

 

Share with us an elevator pitch (no more than 30 seconds) of your latest title:

This is not my latest, but it is the one on sale next two weeks. A Cat to die For

Two Calico cats, almost alike except for one detail. The love of Mina’s life, Diego Moran shows up with a Greek heiress wanting Houdini although she has a look-a- like cat named Zeus.The cat caretaker is found dead. Now the adventure begins…

 

Where can we buy it?

Amazon.com

One thought on “An interview with Maria Grazia Swan

  1. Looks terrific, thank you so much

Leave a Reply

