An interview with Amy Metz

AmyMetzAmy Metz is the author of the Goose Pimple Junction mystery series. She is a former first grade teacher and the mother of two sons. When not actively engaged in writing, enjoying her family, or surfing Facebook or Pinterest, Amy can usually be found with a mixing spoon, camera, or book in one hand and a glass of sweet tea in the other. Amy lives in Louisville, Kentucky.
Links:
Website: http://authoramymetz.com

Blog: http://abluemillionbooks.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmyMetz

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authoramymetz

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/AmyMetz

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Rogues-Rascals-Pimple-Junction-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B01EGOZKSW?

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/amy-metz-1a648639

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+AmyMetz/

 

 

Where would you live if you could live anywhere in the world?
Stockbridge, Massachusetts. I visited there for a month in 2014 and fell in love with it. But if I could live anywhere in the world, I’d live in Stockbridge in the summertime and somewhere in the South by the ocean during the winter.

What’s your current guilty pleasure?

Donuts. Boston Cream Pie or chocolate donuts, specifically, but really any donut is my kryptonite. It’s a terrible problem.

 

Who are your cheerleaders?

My family: my two sons and daughter-in-law, my dad, and my sister; my friend Tom; and a few readers who have become online friends.

 

What would you like to share with writers who haven’t reached the point of publication yet?

Take all those necessary baby steps and then take the giant leap. If you haven’t found a publisher and your manuscript is done to your liking, self-pub it yourself. I was reluctant to self-publish because of the negative stereotype sometimes given to indie authors. But I’m glad I did it and wish I’d done it sooner.

 

What do you feel is your most effective tool for promoting your published work?

I think exposure through blogs is invaluable. Unknown or new authors sell books through word of mouth, and the online book community is huge. Getting a spotlight or feature on book blogs is the best way I know of to get the word out about your book.

 

What area of book promotion is the most challenging to you?

I haven’t found author fairs or book signings to be successful. I don’t count any of them as defeats, because I think it’s a positive thing anytime you can promote your work to the public. But monetarily, I am stumped on how to sell books that way!

 

Which genres do you prefer to read?
I am partial to mysteries. I love all three of Robert B. Parker’s series, but I also love David Rosenfelt, Nelson DeMille, Chris Knopf, Michael Connelly . . . I could go on and on. If it’s a mystery, I’ll probably like it unless it’s too gory or scary.

 

What book is currently on your nightstand?

House of the Hanging Jade by Amy Reade.

 

How important do you find the communication between you and your readers? Do you reply to their messages or read their reviews?

I love communicating with readers. I always respond to messages, which thankfully so far have been encouraging and supportive. I do read reviews, which are, unfortunately, not always encouraging and supportive! But I try to remember one of my favorite quotes: “You can be the ripest, juiciest peach in the world, and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches.” All reviews are appreciated, although I try to forget some of them.

 

Do you prefer Twitter or Facebook?
Facebook. I use Twitter, but I’m not sure I’ve ever really understood it. I like the interaction with people on Facebook. Since I work at home alone, it’s my water cooler.

 

Do you have a local independent bookseller you’d like to mention?
I think Joseph Beth Booksellers in Lexington, Kentucky is the best bookstore in my area, even though I live an hour and a half away from it. There are several indie bookstores in Louisville, but when I published my first book, none would agree to host a launch. It is so nice to find an indie bookstore that supports indie authors. And I swear I hear angels sing when I walk into Joseph Beth. That place is awesome.

 

Give us a list of your published titles in chronological or series order:
Murder & Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction
Heroes & Hooligans in Goose Pimple Junction
Short & Tall Tales in Goose Pimple Junction
Rogues & Rascals in Goose Pimple Junction

 

Share with us an elevator pitch (no more than 30 seconds) of your latest title:
What do you get when a hit woman, a Southern belle, and a juvenile delinquent cross paths? Murder, mystery, and humor in Rogues & Rascals in Goose Pimple Junction.

 

Where can we buy it?
At Amazon in Kindle and paperback: https://www.amazon.com/Rogues-Rascals-Pimple-Junction-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B01EGOZKSW?

 

If you could ask your readers one question, what would it be?
Who would you like to see more about in the next book?

 

Are you working on anything new and if so when can we expect to see it?
Right now I’m writing the fifth book in the Goose Pimple Junction series. I would love to say it will be out by the end of the year, but the truth is I don’t know. It will depend on how much and how quickly my characters cooperate with me.

 

Is there anything else you’d like to share to your followers and readers?
I am so honored and grateful when readers spend time and money on my work, so I’d like to say a huge thank you to all who do that. If you’d like to be put on an email list for future news, visit my website and fill out the form on the home page. One of these days I’m going to figure out how to do a newsletter.

Thank you so much for hosting me! It is much appreciated.

elechi-pen

Goose Pimple Junction mysteriesLike any good Southern belle, Caledonia Culpepper was raised by her mama to be gracious, charming, witty, and above all, a devoted mother and loving wife, so she’s baffled when her marriage falls apart.

 

Wynona Baxter is a master of disguise but is often a ditzy airhead. A hit woman wannabe, when she’s Rogues&Rascalshired for her first job in Goose Pimple Junction and things don’t go as planned, she’s forced to resort to Plan B. She’ll also need Plan C and D.

 

Crooked lawyers, restless husbands, a teenaged hoodlum – it seems there are rogues and rascals everywhere you look in Goose Pimple Junction.

When Caledonia and Wynona’s paths cross, they prove there isn’t a rogue or a rascal who can keep a good woman down. Mama always said there would be days like this . . .

2 thoughts on “An interview with Amy Metz

  1. radine says:

    I loved your elevator pitch Amy! I also noticed you mentioned no female authors among listed favorites, though you did say you enjoyed most mysteries if they weren’t gory–etc. (Me too!) But, as a long-time member of Sisters in Crime–which makes me a promoter of women who write mysteries–I wondered where the women were on your favorites list!

    • amym115 says:

      Radine, I do read women writers too! Michael Lee West, Patricia Cornwell, Linda Fairstein, Laura Lippman . . . as you know, the list is long!

      PJ–I don’t know how I missed this, but I didn’t see it until now. Thank you so much for hosting me.

Leave a Reply

