Getting to Know Kathryn Bain

kathrynbainKathryn J. Bain is an award-winning author of Christian, mystery, and suspense, including the Lincolnville Mystery series and KT Morgan short suspense series.

Ms. Bain has garnered several awards, including two Heart of Excellence Readers’ Choice Awards and a First Place Royal Palm Literary Award for Inspirational Fiction.

A past President of Florida Sisters in Crime and Public Relations Director for Ancient City Romance Authors, Kathryn enjoys doing talks and teaching about writing.

She lives in Jacksonville, Florida near her daughters and granddaughter. Kathryn has also been a paralegal for over twenty years and works for an attorney who specializes in elder law.

 

Website URL: http://www.kathrynjbain.com

Blog URL: http://www.kathrynjbain.com

Facebook URL: https://www.facebook.com/Kathryn-J-Bain-248456325239552/

Buy links for Take Her Breath Away

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Take-Breath-Away-Lincolnville-Mystery/dp/1537331884/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1476046602&sr=1-1&keywords=take+her+breath+away+bain

 

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/take-her-breath-away-kathryn-j-bain/1124480960?ean=9781537331881

elechi-pen

Tell us a little about yourself:

 

I grew up in northern Idaho and moved to Florida over thirty years ago. I have an Associates of Arts Degree and am a Certified paralegal. I have worked for the Preddy Law Firm for almost 15 years now. I have two grown daughters and one granddaughter.

 

State a random fact about yourself that would surprise your readers.

 

One of my worst classes in school was English. I disliked it terribly. I still am gramatically challenged, so I hire editors to fix my comma errors. 

 

Who are your cheerleaders? 

 

My two daughters give me a lot of support me with my writing. I also belong to two critique groups and several writers organizations. I also have several people in my church who cheer me on. 

 

Do you keep track or write reviews for books you read?

 

I write reviews for books only if I like the book. I try my best to give no lower than a 3, but sometimes the book is so bad, I just can’t, so I won’t leave a review. 

 

Do you read reviews written about your book?

 

I do because I like to know where I can improve. 

 

 

With more books being released each month now than ever before, what do you believe sets your work apart from the others?

 

I write Edgy Christian which sets me apart from the sweet Christian authors. I deal with dark suspense like child trafficking (One Last Breath) and adultery (Take Her Breath Away). And my short suspense is edge-takeherbreathawaycoverof-your-seat with a killer or two. I also try to make my Christians more realistic than most Christian writers. In Catch Your Breath, the mother of my heroine is a mean Christian woman. She is very pious, as some Christians are. 

 

What would you like to share with writers who haven’t reached the point of publication yet? 

 

Keep writing. That’s the most important thing you can do. 

 

What do you feel is your most effective tool for promoting your published work?

 

Getting out and meeting readers at book festivals and signings. The more you can connect with readers, the better chance you have of getting your books read. 

 

What area of book promotion is the most challenging to you?

 

Social Media. I’m technologically challenged, so I’m not good at getting out on FB, Twitter, etc. 

 

 

Which genres do you prefer to read?

 

I love suspense more than anything. Every once in a while I’ll read something else, but it’s rare. I prefer non-Christian because the suspense in Christian writing is usually minimal. 

 

 

What book is currently on your nightstand?

 

Hank Phillippi Ryan’s What You See. 

 

Are there any particular books and/or authors that inspired you and continue to do so?

 

Love so many, but Dean Koontz is one of my favorites. I also like CJ Box. 

 

How many books do you read/month?

 

I try to read 2-3 books a month. 

 

What is the one book that you think everyone should read?

 

I don’t have a “must read” book. I just think it’s important for everyone to read. Schools frustrate me when they limit their reading lists. I think that’s part of the reason so many kids quit reading – because they’re made to read things they don’t enjoy. 

 

 

Where can your fans find you?

 

I have a website, www.kathrynjbain.com where you can sign up for my Christian newsletter and find out how to get my first KT Morgan Short Suspense, The Visitor, for free. I’m also on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Google+ under Kathryn J. Bain. You can also find me on Twitter @kjbain. And I have an author page on Amazon. 

 

 

Give us a list of your published titles in chronological or series order:

 

The Lincolnville Mystery Series, inspirational romantic suspense, includes:

Breathless;

Catch Your Breath;

One Last Breath; and

Take Your Breath Away


The KT Morgan Short Suspense Series includes:

The Visitor;

Small Town Terror; and

Reunion, due out December 9, 2016

 

My stand alone books are the following:

Beautiful Imperfection – Inspiration Romantic Suspense

Knight & Day – Humorous Mystery

Game of Hearts – Humorous Romantic Novella

 

 

Are you working on anything new and if so when can we expect to see it?

 

I just finished Reunion that is the third in my KT Morgan Short Suspense Series which will be released December 9, 2016 and am currently working on a Bible Study titled Holding the Hand of a King set to come out in 2017 if I ever get the thing finished. 

Leave a Reply

