Besides Blog Tours, What Other Promo I Like by Marilyn Meredith

There is so much to do when an author has a new book coming out. No matter what one decides, hire a publicist, or go it on his or her own, there’s plenty to do.

 

Promoting on Facebook is one of my favorites because I like to go there anyway and tell my followers what I’m doing. Since writing is such a big part of my life, the progress of a book is often mentioned. I also use Facebook groups especially to promote where I’m stopping when I’m on a blog tour.

 

I do post on Twitter, but it’s not my favorite venue.

 

My own blog is where I post about my new books too—but I also host many writers.

 

For each new book I get business cards made with a picture of the cover and the appropriate information. These I give out everywhere I go.

 

I have a magnet made for my car with the cover of the latest book on it. Not sure it does any good, but I can always find my car.

 

Book festivals and craft fairs are great fun. I’ve always enjoyed doing them, meeting new readers and talking with other authors. (It’s important though to engage anyone who passes by the table or booth where you are.)

 

Speaking engagements are probably my favorite promo tool. I’ve always loved talking to any group of people whether it’s writers or readers. Libraries are great places to give a presentation.

 

Though big mystery conferences and conventions are fun, unless you’re well-know they aren’t the best place to sell books. But if you do go to them, make friends with the many readers who come to see their favorite authors.

 

I also have a newsletter that I put out once a month. It always has information about my writing and books, but also all the things I’ve done and the events I’ve attended during the past month. If I’m doing a book tour, there’ll be information about that too.

 

Always have your business cards or bookmarks ready to give out wherever you go.

 

  1. M. aka Marilyn Meredith

 

#13 in the Rocky Bluff P.D. series, Unresolved Blurb:

 

Rocky Bluff P.D. is underpaid and understaffed and when two dead bodies turn up, the department is stretched to the limit. The mayor is the first body discovered, the second an older woman whose death is caused in a bizarre manner. Because no one liked the mayor, including his estranged wife and the members of the city council, the suspects are many, but each one has an alibi.

Copies may be purchased from Book and Table by emailing bookandtablevaldosta@gmail.com with a 10% discount and free shipping as well as all the usual places.

 

Bio: F. M. Meredith lived for many years in a small beach community much like Rocky Bluff. She has many relatives and friends who are in law enforcement and share their experiences and expertise with her. She taught writing for Writers Digest Schools for 10 years, and was an instructor at the prestigious Maui Writers Retreat, and has taught at many writers’ conferences. Marilyn is a member of three chapters of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and serves on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. She lives in the foothills of the Sierra. Visit her at http://fictionforyou.com and her blog at http://marilymeredith.blogspot.com/

 

Webpage: http://fictionforyou.com

Blog: https://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://facebook.com/marilynmeredith

 

Tomorrow, May 8, I shed some Background on the Rocky Bluff P.D. Series and Me

https://bookbrowsing.wordpress.com/

 

5 thoughts on “Besides Blog Tours, What Other Promo I Like by Marilyn Meredith

  1. marilynm says:

    Thank you so much for allowing me to share some of the things I do for promotion today.

  2. marilynm says:

    Also, a correction, tomorrow I’ll be visiting Amy M Bennett at https://amymbennettbooks.com/blog

  3. pjnunn says:

    We’re always happy to have you here, Marilyn!

  4. JL Greger says:

    Good, honest advice. Thanks. I’m trying to do all those things now for Other People’s Mother, a collection of short stories. Although it can be enjoyable, it’s hard work.

Leave a Reply

